Historic Markers Across Georgia



Kilgore Mill Covered Bridge - Removed, bridge gone



Marker ID:  
Location: Ga 11 2 miles south of GA 324 at Tanner Bridge Rd
County: Barrow
Coordinates:   
Style: Free Standing **
Status: The marker has been removed.
Waymark: None
 



Text:

Located 1.5 miles west across Apalachee River; constructed by D.J. Thompson in 1874, replacing older bridge. Constructed by the Town Truss Design patented in 1820 by Ithiel Town of Conn; the bridge consisted of a web of planks crisscrossed at angles of 45° to 60 ° like lattice fastened with wooden pegs, extending 117 feet in one span, 16.5 feet wide and 15.5 feet high.

In 1833, Joseph James sold the land to Willis Kilgore, Sr. and it remained in his family over 75 years. He built a saw mill and grist mill at the dam. In 1924 E. M. & G. R. Brisco purchased the land and mills, and remained owners until 1940. It became known as Brisco Mills. Land on Barrow County side owned by Mrs. Ola Sims, and Walton County side by Mr. and Mrs. H. D. Kinsey.

Only the bridge remains

Erected by Brotherhood Social Club Ind. Of Barrow County 1977



 
Notes:

Removed - bridge gone

Explore more:
Wikipedia: Lattice truss bridge
Wikipedia: Ithiel Town