Historic Markers Across Georgia



The Red and Black



Marker ID: GHM 029-18
Location: Herty Drive behind Academic Bldg., North UGA Campus, Athens, GA
County: Clarke
Coordinates: N 33° 57.429    W 083° 22.537
  33.95715    -83.37561
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM2FR
The Red and Black Marker  



Text:

Student published the first issue of the University of Georgia´s campus newspaper, The Red and Black, on Nov. 24, 1893, from offices in the Academic Building [now the Hunter-Holmes Academic Building]. The tabloid boosted school spirit, promoted athletic programs and reported on cultural activities for the University´s 212 students. The weekly paper was the official organ of the Athletic Council from 1895 to 1928, when it became a laboratory for the School of Journalism in the Commerce-Journalism Building. It was a semiweekly when it moved with the school to the Journalism Building in 1968 and changed to a broadsheet format. In 1980, The Red and Black became independent of the University, supported by advertising, directed by volunteer professionals and produced by students off campus. In 1991, publication was expanded from four to five days a week. The Red and Black ha provided University students with valuable training and experience. Distinguished alumni include John E. Drewry, the first dean of the School of Journalism; many acclaimed publishers, editors and writers; leaders in broadcasting, public relations and advertising; and recipients of Pulitzer Prizes, Peabody and Academy Awards.

GHM 029-18 GEORGIA HISTORICAL COMMISSION



 

 

029-18