Historic Markers Across Georgia



Coheelee Creek Covered Bridge 2 mi.



Marker ID: HCC 
Location: Ga 62 at Old River Road at Hilton
County: Early
Coordinates: N 31° 17.311    W 085° 3.926
  31.288516    -85.06543
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WMAK5F
Coheelee Creek Covered Bridge 2 mi. Marker  



Text:

The covered bridge over Coheelee Creek, two miles north on the Old River Road, was ordered built by the Early County Board of Commissioners in 1883. It was erected by J. M. Baughman. Commissioners were J. J. Moseley, W.C. Sheffield, H.C. Fryer, and J.P. Lane. The Peter Early Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution were made custodians of this bridge by order of the Board of Commissioners of Roads and Revenue of Early County, on August 6, 1957. C.E. Martin Chairman; Mrs. George Nelson, Regent, DAR.

Replacement marker erected by the Historic Chattahoochee Commission 2007



 
Notes:

The original marker text:

Constructed in 1891 by the Early County Commissioners, this relic of by-gone days is the southernmost covered bridge in the United States. The bridge consists of two spans, measuring 96 feet in length. Of the queen-post truss modified design, it stretches across Coheelee Creek with its picturesque waterfalls. The Fannie Askew Williams Park, a county maintained picnic area, is adjacent to the bridge. Coheelee Creek covered bridge is located two miles north of Georgia 62 on Old River Road. On May 13, 1976, it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places

ERECTED BY THE HISTORIC CHATTAHOOCHEE COMMISSION
AND THE EARLY COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY 1985

 

049-A4