Historic Markers Across Georgia

The History of the City of Sandy Springs, Georgia

Marker ID:  
Location: Sandy Springs Circle at Sandy Springs Place in front of the William Payne House.
County: Fulton
Coordinates: N 33° 55.293    W 084° 23.026
  33.921550    -84.383764
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM7ZMK
The History of the City of Sandy Springs, Georgia Marker  


Sandy Springs, Georgia, the unincorporated community just north of Atlanta, began a 30-year campaign for incorporation when the City of Atlanta tried to annex the area in the 1970s. The Committee for Sandy Springs formed in 1975 to incorporate Sandy Springs into its own city. The Committee introduced bills into the Georgia General Assembly calling for a referendum on incorporation. Year after year, the bill died in the Georgia House of Representatives. In 2000, the Committee filed suit in federal court. In 2005, the referendum was held, and on June 21, 2005, the residents of Sandy Springs voted 94 percent for incorporation.

The mayor and six council members were elected in November 2005. With a population of more than 85,000 citizens, on December 1, 2005, Sandy Springs incorporated and became the seventh largest city in the State of Georgia. The city encompassed approximately 39 square miles. The city´s boundaries were the City of Atlanta to the south, the City of Roswell and the Chattahoochee River to the north, the DeKalb and Gwinnett County lines to the east, and Cobb County and the Chattahoochee River to the west.

(Side 2)
The City of Sandy Springs, Georgia
Incorporated December 1, 2005

Mayor: Eva Galambos
City Council: Tiberio "Tibby" DeJulio
Dianne Fries
Dave Greenspan
Ashley Jenkins
Karen Meinzen McEnery
Rusty Paul

Presented by Leadership Sandy Springs, Class of 2006
Sponsored by Cox Enterprises, Inc.


The History of the City of Sandy Springs, Georgia