Historic Markers Across Georgia

Lyman Hall

Marker ID: GHM 069-2
Location: Courthouse square in Gainesville, GA
County: Hall
Coordinates: N 34° 17.917    W 083° 49.526
  34.29861666    -83.82543333
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM3YAA
Lyman Hall  Marker  


Lyman Hall (1725-90), one of three Georgia signers of the Declaration of Independence, was born in Connecticut but moved to Georgia when young. Member of the Savannah Conventions, 1774-75, and very influential in Georgia´s joining in American Revolution; served in Colonial Congress from Parish of St. John, 1755-80. When British seized Georgia and confiscated his property, he and his family refugeed in the north until 1782, when he returned to Georgia and served one term as Governor of
the State.

He is buried under the Signers Monument in Augusta. Hall County (1818) was named for him.

GHM 069-2 Georgia Historical Commission 1953


For more information on Lyman_Hall


Signers of the Declaration of Independence