Historic Markers Across Georgia

City of Walthourville (Side 1)

Marker ID: MCBC 
Location: At the City Hall on US 119 at Busbee Road
County: Liberty
Coordinates: N 31° 46.216    W 081° 38.062
  31.77026666    -81.63436666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None
City of Walthourville (Side 1) Marker
Photo by David Seibert


City of Walthourville History
Incorporated in 1974
"Organized by women, supported by men"
Mayor Lyndol Anderson

The first mayor of the city of Walthourville, who was appointed by Governor Jimmy Carter in 1974.

On April 10, 1974 in the presence of a few friends, attorney J. Noel Osteen Administered the Oath Of Office to the Mayor, Mrs. Lyndol Anderson and Councilwoman, Msrs. Faye Booth, Mrs. Maxine Gaskin, Mrs. Carrie Kent, Mrs. Ardith Herbert, Miss. Celia Davis, and to the clerk, Mrs. Molene Burke at the Walthourville Polling House in Walthourville and was officially elected in the first city election held on December 4, 1974.

The first act of Mrs. Anderson was to donate her $150-a-month salary for the betterment of the city and all-female council

(continued on the other side)

In recognition of her past service to the city and to the citizens of Walthourville,
The Mayor and Council hereby honor Mrs. Lyndol Anderson
The first mayor of the city of Walthourville, the 20th day of June, 2007