Historic Markers Across Georgia

Rabun County

Marker ID: GHM 119-1
Location: US 76 West on Courthouse lawn, Clayton
County: Rabun
Coordinates: N 34° 52.72    W 083° 24.171
  34.878668    -83.402856
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM113B
Rabun County Marker
Photo by cldisme


This County created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 21, 1819, is named for William Rabun, 11th Governor of Georgia who was elected in 1817 and died in 1819. Self-educated by reading he served as a member of the Legislature and as President of the Senate. Here now is located the famous Rabun Gap-Nacoochee School for the education of entire families. Among the first County Officers were: Justices of the Inferior Court Edward Coffee, John McClure, Samuel Farris, William Kelly, William Gillespie, Andrew Miller, James Dillard and Clerk Thomas Kelly.

GHM 119-1 Georgia Historical Commission 1954