Historic Markers Across Georgia

Wesleyanna Memorial Church

Marker ID:  None
Location: East of Sylvania on road to Brier Creek battlefield
County: Screven
Coordinates: N 32° 46.217    W 81° 34.35
  32.77028333    -81.40153
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM7WT7
Wesleyanna Memorial Church Marker
Photo by David Seibert


Organized 1868 under bush arbor on Stephen D. Lewis farm by Elder Theo. A. Pharr, John Hardy Bolton, Julia Wells Bolton, Stephen D. Lewis, Martha Howard Lewis, Paul Jenkins, Temperance Jenkins, Fulton L. Oglesby, Mary Bolton Oglesby and others on land given by Alexander James Wells and Isaac Thomas Bazemore. Original Trustees: John W. Boston, James Allen Bazemore, Green Berry Waters, Alexander James Wells and Abisha Humphrey Bazemore. Among early preachers: John Jenkins, W.D. Smith, Abisha Humphrey Bazemore, A.F. Ellington, Emory F. Dean, Jacob Perry Bazemore, David Matthews Bazemore, A.M. Johnson and John W. Roach.

June, 1957, church and cemetery set aside as perpetual memorial to founders by deed from Methodist Conference to Trustees, all of whom are descendants: Dora Bazemore Brooker, E. Lampkin Bazemore, I. Thomas Sanders, James Eugene Bazemore, Charles Thurman Hopkins, Sr., Lilla Sanders Smith, John w. Gross, Palmer A. Bazemore and Bertha Hoffman.


Wesleyanna Memorial Church
Wesleyanna Memorial Church
Photo by Ken Moser