Historic Markers Across Georgia

Taylor County

Marker ID: GHM 133-4
Location: Courthouse in Butler
County: Taylor
Coordinates: N 32° 33.429    W 084° 14.271
  32.55715557    -84.23784896
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM7MCN
Taylor County Marker
Photo by David Seibert


Taylor County

Taylor County was created by Act of Jan. 15, 1852 from parts of Macon, Marion and Talbot Counties. It was named for Zachary Taylor (1784-1850), 12th President of the U.S., Major-General, Commander of the Army of the Rio Grande. Known as “Old Rough and Ready," he captured Monterrey, Sept. 24, 1846 and defeated Santa Anna at Buena Vista, Feb. 22-23, 1847.

First officers of Taylor County, commissioned July 24, 1852 were: J.M. Thompson, Sheriff; J.M. McCants, Clerk Sup. Ct.; James T. Harmon, Clerk Inf. Ct.; A. Rhodes, Tax Rec.; Charles Loyd, Tax Col; J.B. Hamilton, Ordinary; C. Stewart, Coroner; Jonathan Stewart, Surveyor.

132-4 Georgia Historical Commission. 1956

Taylor County Courthouse
Taylor County
Photo by David Seibert