Historic Markers Across Georgia

Towns County

Marker ID: GHM 139-2
Location: Courthouse in Hiawassee
County: Towns
Coordinates: N 34° 56.837    W 083° 45.42
  34.947289    -83.757007
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM37A


Towns County was created by Act of March 6, 1856 from Rabun and Union Counties. It was named for George Washington Towns, Governor of Georgia from 1847-1851. Gov. Towns was born in Wilkes County, May 4, 1801, of a Virginia family. Self-educated, he was a merchant, lawyer, legislator, state senator, Congressman. He died in 1854. First officers of towns County, commissioned April 21, 1856, were: Andrew I. Burch, Sheriff; Martin L. Burch, Clerk Superior Court; James H. Moore, Clerk Inferior Court; Milton Brown, Tax Receiver; George M. Denton, Tax Collector; Robert S. Patton, Coroner; James Alston, Surveyor; John W. Holmes, Ordinary.

GHM 139-2 Georgia Historical Commission 1956