Historic Markers Across Georgia

The Dissolution of the Confederate Government

Marker ID:  
Location: 23 Court St, Washington GA
County: Wilkes
Coordinates: N 33° 44.279    W 082° 44.352
  33.73798333    -82.7392
Style: Carved Stone **
Waymark: None


On this site stood the old Georgia State Bank building in which Pres Davis held the last official cabinet meeting of the Confederacy May 4, 1865.

President Jefferson Davis • Post. M. Gen. John H. Reagan • Sec. of Navy Stephen R. Mallory • Sec. of War John C. Breckenridge • Act. Sec. of Treas. M.H. Clark • Adj. Gen. Samuel Cooper • Nav. Purch. Agt. C.E. Thorburn • Mil. Adv. Braxton Bragg • Com. Gen. I.M. St. John • Q.M. Gen. A.R. Lawton • Prvt. Sec. Burton N. Harrison • Aide-de-camp Col. J.T. Wood • Aide-de-camp Col. Lubbock, Ex. Gov. Texas • Aide-de-camp Col. Wm. P. Johnston

At this meeting the Confederate Government was dissolved, the last official papers were signed, the residue of coin and bullion brought from Richmond was disposed of by order of Pres. Davis, and both civil and military officials separated to make their escape.

1938 by Last Cabinet Chapter of the Daughters of the Confederacy.