Historic Markers Across Alabama

Clay County

Marker ID: ABT 
Location: Clay County Courthouse, Court Sq (AL 9), Ashland, AL Ashland, AL
County: Clay
Coordinates: N 33° 16.469    W 085° 50.134
  33.27448333    -85.83556666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WMRD8N


Clay County
Established Dec. 7, 1866

Boundaries of eastern Talladega County and western Randolph County were redrawn in 1866 to create the 58th county of Alabama. The name honors U. S. Senator Henry Clay of Kentucky. Historical place names include Almond, Anititchapko, Ashland, Barfield, Berwick, Bluff Springs, Bowden Grove, Brownsville, Bull Gap Crossroads, Campbell Springs, Carbon, Carr Mill, Chambers Springs, Clairmont Springs, Cleveland Crossroads, Coleta, Cooley, Copper Mine, County Line, Cragford, Delta, Dempsy, East Mill, Elias, Erin, Fishhead, Flat Rock, Fox Creek, Gibsonville, Gilberts Mill. Glades, Guntertown, Harlan, Hatchet Creek, Haynes Crossroads, High Pine, Highland, Hillabee, Hillabi Town, Hollins, Idaho, Jenkins Springs, Laundshi, Lineville Lundies Crossroads, McConathy, Mellow Valley, Midway, Millerville, Motley, Mountain, Needmore, Pinckneyville, Potus-Hatchi, Puckna, Pyriton, Rays Crossroads, Roma, Roselle, Ross Ford, Shady Grove, Shinbone, Sikesville, Skegg Crossroads, Springhill, Talladega Mountains, Union, Wako-Kayi, Watts Crossroads, Watts Mill. Weathers, Wesobulga, Wheelerville, Wicker, and Winn.

Erected by Alabama Tourism & Travel, Lee Sentelll,
Director / Courthouse Celebration Chairman

End of Clay County