Historic Markers Across Alabama



The Old Mill (1927)



Marker ID:  
Location: On Mountain Brook Blvd., Mountain Brook, AL
County: Jefferson
Coordinates: N 33° 28.898    W 086° 45.531
  33.48163333    -86.75885
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WMD9V7
 



Text:

On this site John Perryman operated a grist mill, from 1867 until 1887, Which ground corn grown by area farmers.

The present structure, while not a working mill, was built in 1927 by Robert Jemison, Jr. as an attraction of his new development, Mountain Brook Estates. The picturesque building was designed by William H. Kessler. The contractor was Lewis Ford employing Tom Cox and George Eastis.

The Old Mill, under the management of Miss Frances Bomer, served breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. Meals ranged from 50 cents to $1.75. Local residents found it to be a delightful rest stop while on horseback rides.

Perryman’s old original millstone was unearthed and used in the current building’s stone fireplace.

After the tearoom operation closed The Old Mill has been used as a private dwelling and for over 50 years was the home of William B. O’Neal. The Mill image is the official logo of the City of Mountain Brook







End of The Old Mill (1927)