Historic Markers Across Alabama

Western Boundary of Cherokee Nation

Marker ID: AHA 
County: Marshall
Waymark: None


Boundary line established between the Cherokee Indian Nation and the United States by Treaty of Chickasaw Council House, September 14, 1816.

The line surveyed by Gen. John Coffee during Fall of 1816, was completed by Col. William Barnett in spring of 1817. The established line remained as the Western Boundary of the Cherokee Indian Nation until their forced removal to Oklahoma Territory in 1837.

It continues to be shown on official Quadrangle Maps, even today.

End of Western Boundary of Cherokee Nation