Historic Markers Across Alabama



Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd / Founding Members



Marker ID: AAHT 11
Location: 605 Donald St, Mobile, AL
County: Mobile
Coordinates: N 30° 42.601    W 088° 5.214
  30.71001666    -88.0869
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None
 



Text:

Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd
Est. 1854


Alabama's oldest African-American Episcopal congregation was fostered in Trinity Church by the Reverend J. A. Massey. The Right Reverend Nicholas H. Cobbs, D.D., Alabama's first Episcopal Bishop confirmed the seven founding members, free and enslaved men and women, on May 28, 1854.

Initially, services were held in the "Love and Charity Hall" on Dearborn Street and St. Michael Street. The first church was built on the north side of St. Michael Street between Cedar Street and Warren Street. In 1884, the congregation moved to a new location at 554 State Street.

From 1896-1912, the church was served by its first African-American priest, the Reverend J.J.N. Thompson. In 1930, the Reverend F. H. Threet, a parishioner, became the first African-American priest to receive ordination in the Diocese of Alabama.

The current site was dedicated on May 28, 1964, the 110th year anniversary, under the leadership of the Reverend John W. B. Thompson.

We will continue to love and serve the community, giving thanks to God for our rich heritage.

Founding Members
May 28, 1854


May 28, 1854

John Bryan
Joshua Davis
Mariah Davis
William Johnson
Hynson Jones
James Scott
Lucy Trueheart


Dora Franklin Finley African-American Heritage Trail..







End of Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd / Founding Members