Historic Markers Across Alabama

First Permanent Court House, Morgan County

Marker ID: AHA 
Location: at the intersection of Main Street and Broad Street, Somerville, Alabama
County: Morgan
Coordinates: N 34° 28.38    W 086° 47.897
  34.473    -86.79828333
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Built circa 1837 with special taxes levied for that purpose by Alabama Legislature, 1836. Replaced first court house, built circa 1825. Somerville was incorporated, 1819, county seat 1819-1891. Cotaco County created February 8, 1818, renamed Morgan County, June 14, 1821.

Erected 1967 by Alabama Historical Association

End of First Permanent Court House, Morgan County