Historic Markers Across Florida



Middleburg Methodist Church



Marker ID: FLHM F-310
Location: on the church grounds on Main Street
County: Clay
Coordinates: N 30° 04.104    W 081° 51.743
  30.0684    -81.86238333
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM3NPC
 



Text:

Middleburg Methodist Church



Founded on or before July 27, 1828 by Isaac Boring, a Methodist Circuit Riding Preacher. First known as The Black Creek Methodist Church. This frontier Methodist society met in homes until the present church was built in 1847. In continuous use since that date, the structure represents the oldest Methodist meeting place in Florida.

Built mostly by slave labor, from native lumber and hand wrought nails from local blacksmiths. The heart of pine exterior is of clapboard square edge siding, a design unique to this period. The windows and mahogany wood for the pews were brought from overseas ports. The bell was cast in New York in 1852 and shipped here prior to 1860 by George Branning. It was tolled for the first time for the funeral of his son on February 29, 1860, who died during a swamp fever epidemic.

The wide aisle was left down the center to segregate the men and women. The back pews were reserved for slaves. The pews were put together with wooden pegs and hand drawn. The marks of the draw-knife can still be seen.

During the mid 1800´s the cemetery was used to bury the town Protestants. The Catholic Cemetery was located 120 feet north of here. In recent years the Cemetery became the burial ground for the community in general.





F-310 The Middleburg United Methodist Church
in cooperation with the Florida Department of State
1986



Notes:

City: Middleburg, FL