Historic Markers Across Florida

Franklin County

Marker ID: FLHM F-62
Location: U.S. 98 and Avenue C at Courthouse.
County: Franklin
Coordinates: N 29° 43.534    W 084° 58.995
  29.72556666    -84.98325
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM5J4G


Franklin County

Named for Benjamin Franklin, the county was created in 1832. Apalachicola, the county seat, which dates back to the times of the Creek Indians, was an important center for cotton trade. The county is noted for agrigulture, timber, livestock and sea foods. Franklin County men of note include: Joseph White, territorial delegate to Congress; McQueen McIntoch, fiery secessionist; Dr. John Gorrie, inventor of artificial refrigeration; Alvin Wentworth Chapman, botanist; and Cosam Emir Bartlett, editor.

F-62 Florida Board of Parks and Historic Memorials. 1961


City: Apalachicola, FL