Historic Markers Across Florida

Hernando County

Marker ID: FLHM 
Location: U.S. 41 at Courthouse in Brooksville.
County: Hernando
Coordinates: N 28° 33.309    W 082° 23.257
  28.55515    -82.38761666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Hernando County originally embraced Hernando, Pasco, and Citrus counties. It was created by the Territorial Legislature in 1843 and named for Hernando DeSoto. In 1844, its name was changed to Benton County in honor of Senator Thomas Hart Benton of Missouri, but his moderation during the Missouri Compromise caused extremists in the legislature to change the name back to Hernando. DeSoto, now Brooksville, was the first county seat. The present boundaries of the county were set in 1887.


City: Brooksville, FL