Historic Markers Across Florida

The Sorosis Club Building

Marker ID: FLHM F-457
Location: on Lake Morton in Lakeland, Florida
County: Polk
Coordinates: N 28° 02.275    W 081° 57.004
  28.03791666    -81.95006666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM3T5W


In 1922 the Sorosis Club or sorority, a women´s club in Lakeland, was organized. Named after the first incorporated women´s club in America, the Sorosis Cloub of New York, the Sorosis Club´s mission included service to the community, as well as social and cultural activities. This property was purchased in 1925 as the site for its new clubhouse. Plans for the Italian Renaissance building by W.B. Talley (1871-1956), a Lakeland architect, were approved in 1926, and construction was completed by N.L. Snelson in 1927 at a cost of $42,000. This clubhouse was the first community center in the city. The Italian Renaissance style was most popular in the United States between 1890 and 1935. Typical elements of the style include the symmetrical design to the front of the building, a flat roof with a low wall around it, wrought-iron railings, recessed porches with arches, and small classical columns. Goldenrod, the club flower of The Sorosis Club, is stenciled below the roof. Two large stone lanterns on each side of the front walk represent knowledge and leadership. The detailing of this building is unique in Lakeland, and unusual in the Central Florida region.

The City of Lakeland Historic Preservation Board and the Florida Department of State - 2001


City: Lakeland, FL