Historic Markers Across Florida



Venice



Marker ID:  
Location: on W Venice Ave. at Nassau St, Venice, FL
County: Sarasota
Coordinates: N 27° 06.003    W 082° 26.857
  27.10005    -82.44761666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: WM521M
 



Text:

Originally known as "Horse and Chaise", early settlers renamed this area Venice in 1888 in recognition of the many natural waterways which abound here. As a city, Venice became a reality when the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers (B. of L.E.) came here in 1925 and began to build a planned retirement community for its members. Designed by well known city planner John Nolen the original plan included wide paved boulevards with planted medians, small parks throughout the community, a golf course, a beachfront amphitheatre, lots reserved for schools and hotels as well as an agricultural area known as Venice Farms.

Mediterranean architecture gave Venice a unique charm. The dream died with the 1929 stock market crash. Venice lay dormat for years with Dr. Albee´s Florida Medical Center, Kentucky Military Institute and the Venice Farms providing the only economic life during the 1930´s. The city came to life again with the creation of an Army Air Base during World War II. The Ringling Brothers Circus relocated their winter home here in 1960. Although Venice has grown beyond the original plan many old landmarks remain as does the unique charm. A new generation now enjoys the retirement dream.

Sarasota County Historical Commission 1983


Notes:

City: Venice, FL