Historic Markers Across South Carolina

Aiken County

Marker ID: Aiken County Historical Commission 2-8
Location: Court House grounds, Aiken, SC
County: Aiken
Style: Free Standing **


Aiken County, created in 1871 from parts of Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, and Orangeburg counties, was named for William Aiken, first president of the South Carolina Canal and Railroad Company. Older industries in the county today are textiles and the mining and processing of kaolin. In 1952, the Atomic Energy Commission´s Savannah River Plant began operations.

Erected by Aiken County Historical Commission-1979