Historic Markers Across South Carolina

Ratification of the Federal Constitution

Marker ID:  
Location: on East Bay Street at Broad Street, Charleston, SC.
County: Charleston
Coordinates: N 32° 46.610    W 079° 55.615
  32.77683333    -79.92691666
Style: Mounted **


South Carolina voted to ratify the Federal Constitution in this building on May 23, 1788. Among the 100 members of the convention on ratification where Charles Pinckney, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney and John Rutledge, three of the four South Carolinians who had served as delegates to the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia.

Erected by the South Carolina State Society of the
National Society of the Daughters
Of the American Revolution