Historic Markers Across South Carolina

Kaminski House Museum / a City's Legacy

Marker ID:  
Location: on King Street near Front Street, Georgetown, SC
County: Georgetown
Coordinates: N 33° 22.07    W 079° 17.199
  33.36783333    -79.28665


Overlooking the Sampit River, the Kaminski House Museum is pre- Revolutionary War and one of over 60 antebellum landmarks in the Georgetown Historic District. The house was built by Paul Trapier, a prominent local merchant, considered to be one of the wealthiest citizens of the colony. The house is typical of the "single house" construction of the period, and was constructed to catch the breezes off the river. The narrow end of the home faced the street with the entry way located midway down one side of the building.
Over the past 200 years, the house has been home to many interesting occupants, including three of the city's mayors. The house was purchased by Harold and Julia Kaminski in 1931. Mr. Kaminski served as mayor and was instrumental in developing both the Coastal Highway and the Inter-coastal Waterway. The Kaminskis furnished their home with antiques collected by Harold Kaminski's mother, Rose Baum Kaminski.

When Julia Kaminski died in 1972, she bequeathed the grounds, house, and its contents to the city of Georgetown with the hopes of it being established as a historic house museum. The museum is dedicated to the memory of her husband and his mother reflecting a unique insight into the construction and furnishings of a bygone period.

Heritage Corridor, National Park Service, Georgetown County South Carolina.