Historic Markers Across South Carolina



Tigerville



Marker ID: SCHM 23-39
Location: NE corner of N. Tigerville Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 253) & S.C. Hwy. 414, Tigerville, SC
County: Greenville
Coordinates: N 35° 4.086    W 082° 22.115
  35.0681    -82.36858333
Style: Free Standing **
 



Text:

(Front)
Tigerville got its name from early settlers who settled here shortly after the Revolution. They called bobcats they saw here “tygers,” and named the nearby Tyger River. The Head of Tyger Baptist Church, later Tyger Baptist Church, was founded about 1800. A community grew up here centered at the intersection of the State Road, built in 1820, and the Tugaloo Path, an Indian trail.

(Reverse)
The first post office here opened in Lemuel Jennings´ general store in 1881, with Jennings as postmaster. Tigerville, described as “charming and romantic” in 1883, boasted several large houses, a cotton gin, a blacksmith shop, and an academy. Jennings´ store, later operated as Wood General Store for almost 90 years, still stands nearby, as does J.H. Roe & Co., built in 1904.

Erected by the Greenville County Historic Preservation Commission, 2009