Historic Markers Across South Carolina

Jasper County

Marker ID: SCHM 28-10
Location: Courthouse grounds, Ridgeland
County: Jasper
Coordinates: N 32° 29.046    W 080° 59.103
  32.4841    -80.98505
Style: Free Standing **


This county was established in 1912 from portions of Beaufort and Hampton counties and named, it is said, for Sergeant William Jasper, hero of the American Revolution. The same act establishing the new county also designated Ridgeland (incorporated 1894) as the county seat. Charles E. Perry, John M. Langford, J. H. Woods, J. P. Wise and Rodger Pinckney were first county commissioners.

Erected by Ivy Garden Club - 1993


Two sided - Jasper County Courthouse

I am not sure why the marker number is 28 (Kershaw County), rather than 27 (Jasper County).