Historic Markers Across South Carolina



Village of Rock Hill / City of Rock Hill



Marker ID: SCHM 46-14
Location: At Hampton and Main Streets at entrance to Main Street Mall, Rock Hill
County: York
Coordinates: N 34° 55.519    W 081° 01.596
  34.925317    -81.0266
Style: Free Standing **
 



Text:

Village of Rock Hill side:
"Main Street was laid out on Alexander Templeton Black´s land by Squire John Roddey in 1851. The post office was established in 1852. The village was incorporated by the General Assembly in 1870 with an area of one mile square; its center was Gordon´s Hotel, which stood just west of here. John R. Allen was first intendant and wardens were J. M. Ivy, Dr. Thos. L. Johnston, John Ratterree, and M. W. Russell."
City of Rock Hill side:
"Rock Hill was incorporated as a city by act of the General Assembly, on December 24, 1892, with an area of two miles square; Center of this square was a point in the middle of Main Street, opposite the Methodist Church. This marker stands near that point. The first mayor was Dr. John William Fewell and first aldermen were E. R. Avery, W. N. Irby, W. S. Morgan, E. E. Poag, J. J. Waters, W. H. Wylie."

Erected by York County Historical Commission - 1979


Notes:

Two sided - City of Rock Hill

Explore more:
Wikipedia - Rock Hill, South Carolina