Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Washington - Carter County Line

Marker ID: THC 1A 32
County: Carter
Waymark: None


Carter County
Established 1796; named in honor of

Landon Carter.

Treasurer of Washington & Hamilton Districts, Speaker of the first State of Franklin Senate, later its Secretary of State; also Lieutenant Colonel of the Washington District Militia.

Washington County
Established 1777; named in honor of

George Washington,

Colonel in the Colonial Army; Commander-in-Chief of the Revolutionary Army and first President of the United States of America

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.