Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Chester - Madison County Line

Marker ID: THC 4D 3
County: Chester
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Chester County

Established 1879; as successor to Wisdom County; named in honor of

Colonel Robert I. Chester.

Quartermaster of the Washington County (Tennessee) Regiment, War of 1812; early postmaster at Jackson; later United States Marshal of the Western District.

Madison County

Established 1821; named in honor of

James Madison.

Fourth President of the United States.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission