Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Claiborne - Hancock County Line

Marker ID: THC 1B 11
County: Claiborne
Waymark: None


Claiborne County
Established 1879; named in honor of

William C.C. Claiborne.

Then Governor of Mississippi Territory. He was from 1796 to 1797 judge of the Superior Court of Tennessee & representative in Congress, 1797-1801. Later became Governor of Louisiana and was Senator-elect from the state when he died.

Hancock County
Established 1844; named in honor of

John Hancock.

Member of the Continental Congress from Massachusetts, 1775-1780; presided over that body for the adoption of the Declaration of Independence and was its first signer. Governor of Massachusetts, 1780-85 and from 1787 until his death in 1793.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.