Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Claiborne - Grainger County Line

Marker ID: THC 1D 5
County: Claiborne
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Union County

Established 1850;

it gets its name from the strong sentiment of the people in the region for the preservation of the Federal Union.

Grainger County
Established 1796; named in honor of

Mary Grainger.

Later Mrs. William Blount, official first lady of the Southwest Territory, 1791-1796.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission