Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Virginia - Tennessee, Claiborne County Line

Marker ID: THC 1D 11
County: Claiborne
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Claiborne County

Established 1879; named in honor

William C.C. Claiborne.

Then Governor of Mississippi Territory. He was from 1796 to 1797 judge of the Superior Court of Tennessee & representative in Congress, 1797-1801. Later became Governor of Louisiana and was Senator-elect from the state when he died.


Named in honor of Elizabeth of England, "The Virgin Queen." One of the original 13 colonies, the first permanent settlement was at Jamestown in 1607. Richmond, the present capital, was also capital of the Confederacy during the major part of the War Between the States.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission