Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Davidson - Robertson County Line

Marker ID: THC 3C 10
County: Davidson
Waymark: None


Davidson County
Established 1783; named in honor of

Brig. Gen. William Lee Davidson

of North Carolina. Distinguished officer in the Revolutionary War. Served with the Army at Valley Forge. Killed in action at Cowan's Ford, North Carolina, 1781.

Robertson County
Established 1783; named in honor of

James Robertson.

Leader in establishment of the Wautauga Settlement in East Tennessee. In 1778, explored the Cumberland country; in 17791ed an expedition to found Nashborough, which later became Nashville. He is known as "The Father of Middle Tennessee."

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.