Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Franklin - Marion County Line

Marker ID: THC 2E 18
County: Franklin
Waymark: None


Franklin County
Established 1807; named in honor of
Benjamin Franklin.

Printer, publisher, diplomat, author, philosopher, scientist and statesman. Most notable achievements in statecraft were his representation of the Thirteen Colonies at the Court of France, his part in drafting the Declaration of Independence and his part in concluding the treaty with England which gave the colonels their independence. He was also member of Constitutional Convention of 1787.

Marion County

Established 1817; named in honor of

Brig. Gen. Francis Marion.

Revolutionary leader in South Carolina, whose brilliantly successful guerilla tactics earned for him the title: “The Swamp Fox."

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission