Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Georgia - Tennessee, Hamilton County Line

Marker ID: THC 2A 31
County: Hamilton
Waymark: None


Hamilton County
Established 1819; named in honor of

Alexander Hamilton,

who served with distinction in the Revolutionary War; Member of Constitutional Convention 1787. Secretary of the Treasury under President Washington, 1789-95.


Named in honor of King George II, who granted the charter for the establishment of a refuge for the destitute and persecuted of England and Europe. It was the last of the original 13 colonies to be settled. The first permanent settlement was at Savannah in 1733.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.