Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Hamilton - Sequatchie County Line

Marker ID: THC 2B 2
County: Hamilton
Waymark: None


Hamilton County
Established 1819; named in honor of

Alexander Hamilton,

who served with distinction in the Revolutionary War; Member of Constitutional Convention 1787. Secretary of the Treasury under President Washington, 1789-95.

Sequatchie County
Established 1857; named in honor of

the valley in which the county lies. This, in turn, was reportedly named for the Cherokee chief who journeyed to Charleston, South Carolina, in the first half of the 18th century to sign a treaty with the Colonial government.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.