Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Hawkins - Sullivan County Line

Marker ID: THC 1A 2
County: Hawkins
Waymark: None


Hawkins County
Established 1786; named in honor of

Benjamin Hawkins.

Member of Continental Congress from North Carolina. U.S. Senator from North Carolina, 1789-95. Signed Deed of Cession, conveying Southwest Territory (which is now the State of Tennessee) to Federal Government.

Sullivan County
Established 1779; named in honor of

Maj. Gen. John Sullivan.

Distinguished officer in Revolutionary War. Member of Continental Congress, 1774-75 and 1780-81; Attorney-General of New Hampshire, 1782-86; President of New Hampshire 1786-87.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.