Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Henry - Stewart County Line

Marker ID: THC 3C 8
County: Henry
Waymark: None


Henry County
Established 1821; named in honor of

of Patrick Henry.

Virginia patriot and statesman, leader in the Revolutionary movement. He was subsequently twice governor of Virginia and a member of the convention which ratified the Constitution in 1788. He declined appointment as Senator, 1794, Secretary of State, 1795, Chief Justice of the United States, tendered by President Washington, and Minister to France, offered by President Adams.

Stewart County
Established 1803; named in honor of

Duncan Stewart.

Revolutionary veteran and one of the first settlers in this area.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.