Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Kentucky - Tennessee, Henry County Line

Marker ID: THC 4A 24
County: Henry
Waymark: None


Henry County
Established 1821; named in honor of

of Patrick Henry.

Virginia patriot and statesman, leader in the Revolutionary movement. He was subsequently twice governor of Virginia and a member of the convention which ratified the Constitution in 1788. He declined appointment as Senator, 1794, Secretary of State, 1795, Chief Justice of the United States, tendered by President Washington, and Minister to France, offered by President Adams.


An Iroquois word meaning Meadow Land. It was visited by Indian tribes from as far west as the Rocky Mountains before 1750. The first white settlement was at Harrodsburg in 1774. Kentucky was the second district west of the Alleghenies to be settled and the first (1792) to become a state.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.