Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Houston - Montgomery County Line

Marker ID: THC 3E 5
County: Houston
Waymark: None


Houston County
Established 1871; named in honor of

Sam Houston.

Member of Congress from Tennessee, 1823-27, Governor, 1827-29. Moving later to Texas, he became the leader in the struggle for independence. Commanded the victorious army at the battle of San Jacinto, was first president of the Republic of Texas, later U.S. Senator from Texas and Governor of Texas.

Montgomery County
Established 1796; named in honor of

Col. John Montgomery.

Explored the Cumberland Country in 1777. Participated in the punitive expedition against Dragging Canoe, 1779 and accompanied John Donelson on his river voyage to Nashborough. Signer of the Cumberland Compact, first sheriff of the district and founder of Clarksville. Commanded territorial troops in the Nickajack expedition, 1794. Killed by Indians later the same year.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.