Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Jackson - Macon County Line

Marker ID: THC 3B 9
County: Jackson
Waymark: None


Jackson County
Established 1801; named in honor of

Andrew Jackson.

Member of the first state Constitutional Convention, later representative in Congress and Senator; major general in the Army, victor in the Creek War, two conquests of Florida and the Battle of New Orleans in 1815; seventh President of the United States.

Macon County
Established 1842; named in honor of

of Nathaniel Macon

of North Carolina, Representative in Congress, 1791-1815. Speaker of the House of Representatives, 1801-07. Senator from North Carolina, 1815-28. President pro tempore of the Senate, 1826-28.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.