Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Jackson - Clay County Line

Marker ID: THC 3B 12
County: Jackson
Waymark: None


Jackson County
Established 1801; named in honor of

Andrew Jackson.

Member of the first state Constitutional Convention, later representative in Congress and Senator; major general in the Army, victor in the Creek War, two conquests of Florida and the Battle of New Orleans in 1815; seventh President of the United States.

Clay County
Established 1870; named in honor of

Henry Clay.

Representative in Congress from Kentucky for many years, sometime Speaker of the House; U.S. Senator and Secretary of State to President John Quincy Adams. Three times a candidate for President.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.