Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Jefferson - Hamblen County Line

Marker ID: THC 1B 40
County: Jefferson
Waymark: None


Jefferson County
Established 1792; named in honor of

Thomas Jefferson.

Secretary of State; formerly member of the Continental Congress; principal author of the Declaration of Independence; later Governor of Virginia; Vice-President and President of the United States.

Hamblen County
Established 1870; named in honor of

Hezekiah Hamblen

of Hawkins County.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.