Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Jefferson - Sevier County Line

Marker ID: THC 1C 11
County: Jefferson
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Jefferson County
Established 1792; named in honor of

Thomas Jefferson.

Secretary of State; formerly member of the Continental Congress; principal author of the Declaration of Independence; later Governor of Virginia; Vice-President and President of the United States.

Sevier County
Established 1794; named in honor of

John Sevier.

Colonel in the Revolutionary Army; a commander at King’s Mountain and veteran of 35 battles in the Revolution and Indian wars; Governor of the State of Franklin; three times represented his state in Congress; first Governor of Tennessee, 1796 to 1801 and from 1803 to 1809.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.