Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Lawrence - Maury County Line

Marker ID: THC 3D 2
County: Lawrence
Waymark: None


Lawrence County
Established 1817; named in honor of

Captain James Lawrence.

Served under Stephen Decatur; in War of 1812 he commanded the Chesapeake in her fight with the frigate, Shannon. Mortally wounded, he gave the famous command:
"Don't give up the Ship."

Maury County
Established 1807; named in honor of

Abram Maury

the Williamson county surveyor, who was one the commissioners appointed to layout counties in West Tennessee. He was State Senator in 1805, later a member of the State House of Representatives.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.