Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Lewis - Lawrence County Line

Marker ID: THC 3F 14
County: Lewis
Waymark: None


Lewis County
Established 1843; named in honor of

Meriwether Lewis.

Captain in the Army of the United States and one time secretary to President Jefferson. Later, co-commander of the Lewis & Clark Expedition to the Pacific Northwest. Enroute to Washington in 1809, he died violently at the spot on the Natchez Trace now marked by the National Monument bearing his name.

Lawrence County
Established 1817; named in honor of

Captain James Lawrence.

Served under Stephen Decatur; in War of 1812 he commanded the Chesapeake in her fight with the frigate, Shannon. Mortally wounded, he gave the famous command:
"Don't give up the Ship."

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission.