Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Alabama - Tennessee, Lincoln County Line

Marker ID: THC 3G 3
County: Lincoln
Waymark: None


Lincoln County

Established 1809; named in honor of

Maj. Gen. Benjamin Lincoln

of the Revolutionary Army. After service at Saratoga, he was put in Chief Command in the Southern Colonies. Later, he was Secretary of War under the Confederation, 1718-83.


Derived from Creek Indian phrase meaning "Here We Rest." In the early 1700's several Spanish expeditions visited the state. In 1702 the French founded Mobile and settled near Tallapoosa. Alabama became a territory in 1817, a state in 1819. Montgomery was also the first capital of the Confederacy.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission