Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Kentucky - Tennessee, Macon County Line

Marker ID: THC 3B 3
County: Macon
Waymark: None


Macon County

Established 1842; named in honor of

Nathaniel Macon

of North Carolina, Representative in Congress, 1791-1815. Speaker of the House of Representatives, 1801-07. Senator from North Carolina, 1815-28. President pro tempore of the Senate, 1826-28.


An Iroquois word meaning Meadow Land. It was visited by Indian tribes from as far west as the Rocky Mountains before 1750. The first white settlement was at Harrodsburg in 1774. Kentucky was the second district west of the Alleghenies to be settled and the first (1792) to become a state.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission