Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Macon - Clay County Line

Marker ID: THC 2D 4
County: Macon
Waymark: None


Macon County

Established 1842; named in honor of

Nathaniel Macon

of North Carolina, Representative in Congress, 1791-1815. Speaker of the House of Representatives, 1801-07. Senator from North Carolina, 1815-28. President pro tempore of the Senate, 1826-28.

Clay County

Established 1870; named in honor of

Henry Clay.

Representative in Congress from Kentucky for many years, sometime Speaker of the House; U.S. Senator and Secretary of State to President John Quincy Adams. Three times a candidate for President.

Erected by Tennessee Historical Commission