Historic Markers Across Tennessee

Macon County

Marker ID:  
Location: on College Street (TN Route 10), Lafayette, TN
County: Macon
Coordinates: N 36° 31.248    W 086° 1.573
  36.5208    -86.02621666
Style: Free Standing **
Waymark: None


Established 1842; named in honor of Nathaniel Macon, North Carolina statesman. This place was selected as the county seat, named for Marquis de LaFayette, French general in the American Revolution.

First courthouse erected in 1844; three courthouses destroyed by fire - 1860; 1901; 1932. Present courthouse built in 1933.

Erected by Macon Bank & Trust; Citizens Bank; Macon County Historical Society.